For Saint Cloche’s Grand Finale Group presentation this year, Curator, Kitty Clark brings together the rich and diverse talents of 19 artists to create a supreme odyssey taking the essence of the iconic era of the 1990’s – a pivotal time in our history and culture of peace, prosperity, and the internet. Escapade’s translation of this ‘best decade ever’, into a contemporary vocabulary, is simultaneously authentic to Saint Cloche and unequivocally unique to director Kitty Clark’s signature curatorial approach in her pursuit of expression. Tapping into the 90’s era of optimism, along with an accumulated unobserved growth and transformation in relation to everything we’ve been exposed to along the way has primed us for this moment.

Everything in our world is a colour journey and it is ‘us’ that assigns the colour – an interpretation by our brain to the vibration of light. The vibrant and contrasting palette mirrors the spectrum of emotions encountered in the pursuit of escape and the thrill of adventure – danger, pleasure and exuberance. It can be playful and unexpected as it is luminous and subtle. Seeing a shade of colour in the natural landscape can always bring us back to Country, a form of escapism and our natural urge to reconnect with Nature. This group of artists will take you on an exploration of material sensitivity whilst narrating a journey of colour through heritage, nostalgia and so much more. We will look back, to look forward.

This festive season, we invite you to step onto a threshold to take one last reflective look back, before we step boldly into the new year – an uncharted path through challenging, significant times. We are on the precipice of reshaping our course, looking to adapt and learn to find inspiring, innovative, and ground-breaking ways to navigate the uncertain waters ahead with equal parts heart and head to regenerate ourselves and our planet. Looking back to look forward again, let’s invoke a new sense of hope in our hearts.

Escapade

“As each year unfolds, and a new horizon beckons, my gaze turns to the past for inspiration and hope. In retrospection, I discover the courage to face the future anew, invoking a renewed sense of hope for a reimagined tomorrow.

In this remarkable era, I am reminded that, through an undaunting capacity to change, we hold the power to break down barriers and usher in a dawn of a new artistic era—beyond our wildest dreams. It is a time to celebrate the transformative potential of art and embrace the limitless possibilities that lie ahead.”

– Kitty Clark

FEATURED ARTISTS

Annie Mangen @anniemangen

Bec Smith @b.ecsmith

Beth Gibbeson @bethgibbeson


Charlotte Alldis @charlottealldis


Charlotte Swiden @charlotteswiden


Daniel O’Toole @daniel.otoole


Emma Labattaglia @emma_labattaglia


Emma Lipscombe @emmalipscombe_


Hannah Lange @hannahlange.art


Joshua Searle @joshua_searle_art


Katie Manekshaw @molluskandstone


Natalie Synnot @sin_not


Leanne Xiu Williams @leannexiu


Nikolaus Dolman @nikolausdolman


Nunzio Miano @nunziomiano


Ria Green @ria.m.green


Sarana Haeata @saranahaeata


Sonia Gill @soniagillartist


Valerie Vigar @son_ra__ceramics

Curated by Kitty Clark

Available in Art Shop

Ocean Leaf Dish
Ocean Leaf Dish

$200

It's My Garden
It's My Garden
It's My Garden

$1,200

Your Eyes Are So Green
Your Eyes Are So Green
Your Eyes Are So Green

$550

Bubble Ray Bowl
Bubble Ray Bowl
Bubble Ray Bowl

$650

Ring A Ring A Rosie
Ring A Ring A Rosie
Ring A Ring A Rosie

$950

Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten
Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten
Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten

$1,500

Ocean Leaf Dish
Ocean Leaf Dish

$200

Bubble Ray Bowl
Bubble Ray Bowl
Bubble Ray Bowl

$650

It's My Garden
It's My Garden
It's My Garden

$1,200

Ring A Ring A Rosie
Ring A Ring A Rosie
Ring A Ring A Rosie

$950

Your Eyes Are So Green
Your Eyes Are So Green
Your Eyes Are So Green

$550

Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten
Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten
Close Your Eyes And Count To Ten

$1,500